News & Updates

East Penn Partners with Evernham Motorsports for 2006

East Penn is excited to announce a new arrangement for the 2006 Busch series with Evernham Motorsports. The Deka logo will appear on the B-Post (between the driver’s window and the back window) of the No. 9 Evernham Busch Car. Drivers Kasey Kahne, Jeremy Mayfield, and Scott Riggs will be alternating turns driving this car. The Deka logo will also appear on each driver’s Busch uniform and on all the Evernham transporters and pit boxes.

Evernham Motorsports is in its fifth season of competition in NASCAR. In 2006, Jeremy Mayfield and Kasey Kahne will be the assigned drivers for the No. 19 and No. 9 cars. Evernham will also campaign the No. 10 car with driver Scott Riggs. Erin Crocker is the team’s newest addition and she will be driving part-time in the Busch series and full-time in the No. 98 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series vehicle.

East Penn provides teams with the most technologically advanced batteries in the industry including a Deka racing battery. This sealed (AGM) absorbed glass mat battery is approximately three-quarters the size of a standard Group 24 battery, weighs 40% less and is completely spillproof and leakproof. The reduction in size and weight enables a race car to have a dual battery backup virtually eliminating the chances of a “DNF” due to charging systems failure.

East Penn is a leading manufacturer of high quality lead-acid batteries and accessories for the automotive, industrial, marine, telecommunications, commercial, and stationary markets. The company’s quality systems for its entire 480-acre complex have been certified to ISO 9001:2000 and ISO/TS 16949:2002 requirements. The company’s Wire and Cable division has been certified to ISO 14001 Environmental Management System requirements. The company claims to have the largest, most modern single-site manufacturing facility in the world. For more information contact East Penn Manufacturing Co., Inc., Lyon Station, PA 19536 or visit the company’s web site at